



Seventeenth meeting of the Noumea Convention

Seventeenth ordinary meeting of the contracting parties to the convention for the protection of the natural resources and environment of the South Pacific Region and related protocols (Noumea Convention)

Apia, Samoa 31 August 2023

Agenda Item 2: Organisation of the Meeting

Purpose of paper:

1. To explain the rules of procedure for the conduct of the meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Noumea Convention and to elect officers.

Background:

- 2. The Rules of Procedure of the Noumea Convention apply to the meeting in accordance with Article 22 of the Convention. Copies may be obtained from RulesofProceduresforNoumeaConvention.pdf (sprep.org).
- 3. Rule 20 of the Rules of Procedure states that at the commencement of the first session of each Ordinary Meeting, a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson are to be elected from among the representatives of the Contracting Parties by a simple majority vote. There are 12 Parties to the Convention: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, France, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, and the United States of America.
- 4. Previous Chairs and Vice Chairpersons:

Meeting	Chair	Vice-Chair
16th Ordinary, 2021	Samoa	Nauru
15 th Ordinary, 2019	PNG	Nauru
14th Ordinary, 2017	Samoa	France
13 th Ordinary, 2015	New Zealand	Cook Islands
12th Ordinary, 2014	RMI	FSM
11th Ordinary, 2012	France	RMI
10 th Ordinary, 2010	PNG	FSM
9 th Ordinary, 2008	Cook Islands	RMI
8 th Ordinary, Joint, 2006	Australia	France
7 th Ordinary, Joint, 2004	Cook Islands	France
6 th Ordinary, Joint, 2002	Samoa	Australia
5 th Ordinary and Plenipotentiary Joint, 2000	Cook Islands	France

- 5. The working languages of the meeting are English and French, and all working documents are available in both languages.
- 6. The meeting will be conducted in plenary; however, Working Groups may be established as needed to consider specific issues.

Recommendation:

- 7. The Parties are invited to:
 - 1) **Elect** a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson.

30 June 2023