

Twelfth Meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention to Ban the Importation into Forum Island Countries of Hazardous and Radioactive Wastes and to Control the Transboundary Movement and the Management of Hazardous Wastes within the South Pacific Region (Waigani Convention)

1<sup>st</sup> September 2023, Apia, Samoa

# Agenda item 2: Organisation of the Meeting

### Purpose of paper

1. To explain the rules of procedure for the conduct of the Meeting and to elect officials.

## **Background**

2. This note contains information for the Twelfth meeting of the Conference of the Parties on the election of officers of the Conference of the Parties of the Waigani Convention to Ban the Importation into Forum Island Countries of Hazardous and Radioactive Wastes and to Control the Transboundary Movement and Management of Hazardous Wastes within the South Pacific Region

## Officers of the Conference of the Parties:

3. Paragraphs 1-4 of Rule 19 of the Rules of Procedure for the Conference of the Parties, as adopted in its first meeting in 2002 sets out the following requirements for the election of officers:

#### **Rule 19:**

- 1. At the commencement of the first session of each ordinary meeting, a President, a Vice President and a Rapporteur are to be elected from among the representatives of the Parties by a simple majority vote;
- The President, Vice President shall remain in office until such successors are elected at the next ordinary meeting and shall serve in that capacity at any intervening extraordinary meetings;
- The President, Vice President and Rapporteur may also exercise the rights of a representative, including the right to vote, unless there is an alternate representative of the same Party present; and
- 4. At the first session of each ordinary meeting, the President of the previous ordinary meeting, or in his/her absence, the Vice President, shall preside until the meeting has elected a President for the Meeting.

4. At the eleventh meeting, the Conference of the Parties elected one President, one Vice-President and one Rapporteur from among the representatives present at the meeting to serve as officers from the beginning of the eleventh meeting of the Conference of the Parties until the beginning of the twelfth meeting of the Conference of the Parties, as follows:

President: Ms Chloe Bird (Australia)

Vice-President: Ms Patricia Pedrus (Federated States of Micronesia)

Rapporteur: Secretariat (SPREP)

- 5. In accordance with the rules of procedure, the officers elected at the twelfth meeting of the Conference of the Parties will also serve for any intervening extraordinary meeting.
- 6. In accordance with paragraph 4 of Rule 19 of the rules of procedure, at the eleventh session of each ordinary meeting, the President of the previous ordinary meeting, or in his/her absence, the Vice President, shall preside until the meeting has elected a President for the Meeting.
- 7. There are 13 Parties to the Convention: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, New Zealand, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu. Previous Presidents and Vice-Presidents have been:

Meeting	President	Vice President
1st Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2002	New Zealand	Samoa
2 <sup>nd</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2004	Tonga	Niue
3 <sup>rd</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2006	Niue	Kiribati
4 <sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2008	PNG	Tonga
5 <sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2010	Samoa	Vanuatu
6 <sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2012	Australia	Fiji
7 <sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2014	Tonga	Tuvalu
8 <sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2015	New Zealand	FSM
9 <sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2017	Cook Islands	FSM
10 <sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2019	Tuvalu	PNG
11 <sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties 2021	Australia	FSM

#### Recommendation

- 8. The Parties are invited to:
  - ▶ elect a President, Vice President and Rapporteur who will oversee the proceedings of the ninth meeting of the Conference of the Parties.

13 March 2023